AMOP Dissertationspreis Symposium AMOP PhD-Award Symposium (SYDI)

jointly organized by all units of S-AMOP

The research units belonging to the AMOP section of the DPG award in 2009 for the third time a PhD prize. Based on the nominations a jury, formed by the heads of the AMOP research units and a representative of jDPG, has selected four finalists for the award. They have been invited to present their research in this symposium. The awardee will be selected from the finalists after the symposium by the prize committee. Its members are in 2009 the professors U. Becker, M. Drescher, M. Fleischhauer, K. Kleinermanns, K. Sengstock, J. M. Rost (preceding) and from the jDPG A. C. Heinrich.

The prize acknowledges excellent research from PhD work and its excellent oral and written dissemination. Eligible for nomination were scientifically excellent PhD theses from the research fields of AMOP completed in 2007 or 2008.

Übersicht der Hauptvorträge und Fachsitzungen

(Hörsaal VMP 8 HS)

Hauptvorträge

SYDI 1.1	Di	10:30-11:00	VMP 8 HS	Experimental manipulation of atoms and photons: the application
				in quantum information processing — •YU-AO CHEN
SYDI 1.2	Di	11:00-11:30	VMP 8 HS	Cavity QED with a Bose-Einstein Condensate — •Tobias Don-
				NER, STEPHAN RITTER, FERDINAND BRENNECKE, ANTON OETTL, THO-
				MAS BOURDEL, MICHAEL KOEHL, TILMAN ESSLINGER
SYDI 1.3	Di	11:30-12:00	VMP 8 HS	Poking and probing strongly correlated gases in optical lattices
				— •Simon Fölling, Artur Widera, Stefan Trotzky, Olaf Man-
				DEL, TATJANA GERICKE, TORBEN MÜLLER, FABRICE GERBIER, PATRICK
				CHEINET, IMMANUEL BLOCH
SYDI 1.4	Di	12:00-12:30	VMP 8 HS	Discrete optics in femtosecond-laser written photonic structures —
				•Alexander Szameit

Fachsitzungen

SYDI 1.1–1.4 Di 10:30-12:30 VMP 8 HS **Dissertation Prize Symposium**