Symposium SAMOP Dissertation Prize (SYAD)

jointly organized by all divisions of the section AMOP

Matthias Weidemüller Physikalisches Institut Philosophenweg 12 69120 Heidelberg weidemueller@uni-heidelberg.de

The divisions of the section AMOP award a PhD prize 2012. The prize acknowledges excellent research from PhD work and its excellent oral and written dissemination. Eligible for nomination were scientifically excellent PhD theses from the research fields of AMOP completed in 2010 or 2011.

Based on the nominations, a jury formed by the heads of the AMOP research units and a representative of jDPG, has selected four finalists for the award. They have been invited to present their research in this symposium. The awardee will be selected from the finalists after the symposium by the prize committee.

The committee members in 2012 are Thomas Möller (Berlin) from the Atomic Physics Division (A), Andreas Görtler (Mindelheim) for the Short Time-scale Physics Division (K), Marcus Motzkus (Heidelberg) for the Molecular Physics Division (MO), Klaus Blaum (Heidelberg) for the Mass Spectrometry Division (MS), Ralf Peter Brinkmann (Bochum) for the Plasma Physics Division (P), Ferdinand Schmidt-Kaler (Mainz) for the Quantum Optics and Photonics Division (Q), Enno Lorenz as a representative of the Young DPG, and Matthias Weidemüller as Chairman of the section AMOP.

The winner will be honoured at the ceremonial session on Wednesday, March 14th.

Overview of Invited Talks and Sessions

(lecture room V47.01)

Invited Talks

| SYAD 1.1 | Mon | 14:00-14:30 | V47.01 | A Quantum Information approach to Statistical Mechanics $-$ |
|------------|-----|---------------|--------|---|
| | | | | •Gemma De las Cuevas |
| SYAD 1.2 | Mon | 14:30-15:00 | V47.01 | Bose-Einstein condensation of photons — •JAN KLÄRS |
| SYAD 1.3 | Mon | 15:00-15:30 | V47.01 | Broadband Optical Quantum Memory at Room Temperature $-$ |
| | | | | •Klaus Reim |
| SYAD 1.4 | Mon | 15:30 - 16:00 | V47.01 | First Spin-Flips Ever Observed with a Single Trapped Proton $-$ |
| | | | | •Stefan Ulmer, Cricia Rodegheri, Klaus Blaum, Holger Kracke, |
| | | | | Andreas Mooser, Wolfgang Quint, Jochen Walz |

Sessions

SYAD 1.1–1.4 Mon 14:00–16:00 V47.01 SAMOP Dissertation Prize Symposium